Reasons Teachers Should Blog

I like to blog.  Whether as a teacher (on my class blog), parent (on a separate, personal blog), or educator advocate (on this blog), I like keeping my thoughts in a central location both as a resource to other teachers/educators/administrators and a resource to myself.  With a simple keyword in my “search” box, I can find all of the resources I once found and preserved to find again.  As a childhood diary fanatic–ok, more than just childhood, I kept diaries until I finally made the move to the blogosphere–blogging is just a logical thing for me to do.

Regardless, I am always in the search for validation and justification of my blogging habit.  Today, this post made me that much more validated for my time spent “curating” (as I like to call it) my thoughts on this blog.

Steve gives 7 reasons why teachers should blog, and I’ll add my own thoughts and experiences to his reasons.

1) Blogging causes you to reflect.–Yes, it does.  I did a lot of reflection on my own teaching process and my plans for this school year on this blog over the summer.  I worked through some problems, idealized my classroom, and envisioned my approach.  Reflection = check.

2) Blogging can crystalise your thinking.–If you go back to some of my earliest posts from April of this year, you can trace my train of development and the events/conferences/occurrences that worked to change my opinion.  Thought–>experience–>revision–>new thought.  Check.

3) Blogging can open up new audiences.–Since creating this blog, over 2,000 people have read my thoughts.  AMAZING!!!  Luckily, there are only maybe one or two people who have snuck a peak in my childhood diaries–thankfully, because they’re field with drivel–but I want an audience for these thoughts; they’re actually worth something!!

4) Blogging can create personal momentum.–Absolutely.  Because of this blog, my Google Reader must keep track of the various blogs and feeds I am following just to keep you all up to date.  I feel an added pressure now to be on the top of my game, to know more, do more, and be more than I would if I didn’t feel accountable to this blog and its readers.

5) Blogging can give you valuable feedback.–Ok, unfortunately, I haven’t gotten much in the way of feedback through comments on this site.  I do, however, get comments on both facebook and twitter.  I also take a look at the search terms that lead people to this page, so I know what content people have used.  I know those “I can” statements keep getting viewed daily.  That provides me feedback.  There is a need for those, and people want them.

6) Blogging can be creative.–I don’t know that I’m creative.  I’m unplanned.  I type the way I talk, but I also try to throw some of those 10-point vocabulary words out every now and then.  Blogging is, though, a creative output.

7) Blogging can raise your game. Blogging is immediate. As soon as you press the Publish button, your ideas are on the web in front of a potential worldwide audience.–This is definitely true as well.  I know I’ve seen my own spelling and grammatical errors, but that’s a reflection of my imperfections, I guess.  Particularly as I am trying to write in a style that does reflect my style of conversation.  I do try to watch what I say, and I never say anything that I don’t truly believe when I say it.  I don’t implicate my school or demean my students, profession, or community.  Why?  Because I have genuine affection and care for all of them.  Blogging is immediate, and I’m still shooting for that “Googled Well” idea :)

Related Articles:

“So….You Wanna Be a Blogger” by Steven Anderson

Leave a Reply

