Common Core: Text Types

I am as guilty as the next person, when it comes to finding and learning information about the common core, the last place I look is the corestandards.org website.  Why?  First, I’m not sure the website will actually have the information I need, which brings me to the second reason I avoid it, I am not sure where to look to answer my question.  If I want exemplar texts, for example, do I go to the standards, the .pdfs, the appendices?  Which appendix?  A, B, or C?  If I want to know how CCSS classifies memoirs (as literature or informational texts), where do I go?

Given my own issues with the site, I want to pass along information I’ve been working on today.  Consider it a holiday gift–no winding your way through the resources available at the core standards site; I have formed the question, completed the research, packaged it up, and am handing it over to you tied with a neat bow.

The Question:  How do various types of literature fit into the strands of “Reading: Literature” and “Reading: Informational Texts”?

The Answer:

Reading:  Literature

Grades K-5

STORIES–

  • Children’s adventure stories
  • Folktales
  • Legends
  • Fables
  • Fantasy
  • Realistic fiction
  • Myth

DRAMAS–

  • Staged dialoge
  • Brief familiar scenes

POETRY–

  • Nursery rhymes
  • Narrative poems
  • Limericks
  • Free verse

Grades 6-12
STORIES–

  • Adventure stories
  • Historical fiction
  • Mysteries
  • Myths
  • Science fiction
  • Realistic fiction
  • Allegories
  • Parodies
  • Satire
  • Graphic novels

DRAMAS–

  • One-act and multi-act plays–both in written form and on film

POETRY–

  • Narrative poems
  • Lyrical poems
  • Free verse
  • Poems
  • Sonnets
  • Odes
  • Ballads
  • Epics

Reading:  Informational Texts

Grades K-5

  • Biographies
  • Autobiographies
  • Books about history, social studies, science, and the arts
  • Technical texts, including directions, forms, and information displayed in graphs, charts, or maps
  • Digital sources on a range of topics

Grades 6-12

  • Exposition
  • Argument
  • Functional texts:  personal essays, speeches, opinion pieces, essays about art or literature, biographies, memoirs, journalism*
  • Historical, scientific, technical, or economic accounts (including digital sources) written for a broad audience

I have to admit–I was incredibly excited to see “graphic novels” listed as a type of literature!!

Related Articles:

Andrew Miller offers suggestions for using graphic novels  in the classroom.

7 thoughts on “Common Core: Text Types

  1. Pingback: Common Core: Text Types | Common Core Online | Scoop.it

  2. Pingback: Text Complexity: Is This Book at Grade Level? « Turn On Your Brain

  3. Pingback: Feeling Overwhelmed with CCSS? Simplify, simplify, simplify « Turn On Your Brain

  4. I also just realized the date of your post. WOWSERS! I feel so far behind… smh @ NC. Oh well. Maybe I’m missing it or having a ‘moment’, but what is literary nonfiction? Would “Chasing Lincoln’s Killer” be an example? Thank you in advance.

    Like

    • You have to start somewhere :). I have not read “Chasing Lincoln’s Killer,” but from what I see online, it would not because although based on real events, it is a fictionalized account. Literary is nonfiction that has the elements of fiction–plot, metaphor, theme, symbols, etc. Think of memoirs for that category!

      Like

Leave a Reply

