“Tweet” is Not a Dirty Word

If you aren’t on Twitter, why not?

I joined Twitter last year after the Innovative Learning Environments conference in Columbus, and I think it has become an excellent resource.  Having participated in a few #edchats, which I will admit were incredibly difficult to follow using my Tweet Deck application, I find Twitter is most valuable in connecting me to 1) Some of the best minds in education, 2) Some of the best blogs in education, and 3) Updated information around topics of personal interest (#commoncore, for example, or #engchat).  While I don’t “reply” to the tweets of others as often as I probably should to build my network and deepen my already existing connections, I do try to check Twitter either online or on my phone at least once a day.  I can tell pretty quickly when something big is happening in education because those I follow on my Twitter feed will start tweeting similar topics, either in reference to an article or to an idea (#SOPA was a big topic on my feed, recently published research about RTTT and CCSS readiness has also been popular lately).

At the last ORC ELA Supervisors meeting, we began discussing Twitter and I heard people say, “I’m on Twitter, but who do I follow?”  I think finding people to follow is a good first step to becoming acclimated with Twitter.  After that, posting Tweets that add to conversations, such as links to articles, blogs, research documents, and/or tweets that make profound personal statements are some of the best ways for YOU to get recognized and may get you some followers of your own.

To get you started in following others, here’s my list of recommendations, which you can also view by following me (@christinahank) and clicking “Following”:

CCSSO (@ccsso) : Council of Chief State School Officers (recognize that from the Common Core?)

Erik Robelen (@ewrobelen):  Reporter for Education Week

CCSSnetwork (@CCSSnetwork):  Retweets the tweets of others that are pertinent to the Common Core–Retweets (RT) allow you to find other people to follow

Kathleen Porter-Magee (@kportermagee):  Common Core blogger with Fordham Institute

Lisa Nielsen (@InnovativeEdu):  “The Innovative Educator” blogger; I may not always agree with her, but I love her perspective

Dr. Dea Conrad-Curry (@doctordea):  Educator, blogger, teacher of teachers.  Excellent resource for common core reflections

PARCC Place (@PARCCPlace):  Updated information about what’s happening with the PARCC assessments for those states in the consortia

Peter DeWitt (@PeterMDeWitt):  Blogger for Education Week

Ewan McIntosh (@ewanmcintosh):  Education speaker, innovative thinker

Daniel Pink (@DanielPink):  Author, education speaker

David Wees (@davidwees):  Education speaker, educator

Huffington Post’s Education News (@Education_Alert):  Keep current on what is going on in education news

NCTE (@ncte):  Teach English?  Follow NCTE

Shanker Blog (@Shankerblog):  Education think tank and research blog.  Love the analysis they do!

Rachel Levy (@RachelAnneLevy):  I’m going to call her a prolific Tweeter 🙂 I love following her education work and blog

Arne Duncan (@arneduncan):  Because, why not?

Join the Future (@jointhefutureOH):  Based in Columbus, Ohio, Join the Future will keep you current on local education issues in Ohio

Fordham Institute (@educationgadfly):  Education think tank–again, we may not always agree, but it’s nice to be informed about other perspectives

Will Richardson (@willrich45):  I’ve heard he will be speaking again at the Innovative Learning Environments Conference in August in Columbus??

Diane Ravitch (@DianeRavitch):  Author, education activist

That’s only the start of the 103 people, organizations, and news groups I follow on Twitter.  I can’t tell you how much I have learned just from this one resource.  Instantaneously, I have access to some of the greatest brains and institutions, and what’s even more incredible is my ability to have a “conversation” with these people through hashtags and @ replies.

Jump into Twitter, find me, and start building your network.

Related Articles:

Be Better at Twitter” by Megan Garber

2 thoughts on ““Tweet” is Not a Dirty Word

  1. Great post! Nice that you shared some of your “follows” and flattered to be among those in your list! I, like you, am finding my Twittet feed has become one of my major resources for news updates–and maybe my major source! I look for more educators to use Twitter as a resource for keeping up on educational and societal change and blogs to learn, share, and reflect on practice!

    Like

  2. Pingback: A BLOG MASH: A BLASH?? | Partner in Education - Notions and Potions

Leave a Reply

